Copyright

    Copyright in France is governed by the law of March 11, 1957 and the Act of 3 July 1985, codified in the code of intellectual property.

    The law recognizes as the author any natural person who creates a work of the spirit regardless of its genre (literary, musical or artistic), its form of expression (oral or written), its merit or purpose (artistic or utilitarian purpose).

    Copyright covers so any creation of the mind, it is a literary work (books, newspapers, plays, software, website, etc.), a work of art (painting, sculpture, photography, image infographiee, architecture, etc.), musical or audiovisual works, once materialized, original and that it is the expression of the personality of the author. So do not fall under copyright protection purely conceptual creations of the mind such as an idea, a concept, a word of common parlance, or a method.

    And after the article L.111 - 1 and L.123 - 1 of the code of intellectual property, the author of a work of the mind enjoys an exclusive property right from its inception, without need for formalities (filing or registration), for a period corresponding to the calendar year of the death of the author and 70 years that follow, for the benefit of his rightful claimants. Beyond this period, the works enter the public domain. However, in case of dispute, it is necessary to be able to provide proof of the existence of the work at a given date, in having previously made a deposit with a recognised body, or in having made the public work and being way to prove. And after the article L.111 - 1 and L.123 - 1 of the code of intellectual property, the author of a work of the mind enjoys an exclusive property right from its inception, without need for formalities (filing or registration), for a period corresponding to the calendar year of the death of the author and 70 years that follow, for the benefit of his rightful claimants. Beyond this period, the works enter the public domain. However, in case of dispute, it is necessary to be able to provide proof of the existence of the work at a given date, in having previously made a deposit with a recognised body, or in having made the public work and being way to prove.

    Article l. 111-1 of the Code of intellectual property:
    The author of a work of the mind shall enjoy in this work, only
    made of his creation of an exclusive right of intangible property
    and enforceable at all.
    This right includes intellectual and moral attributes,
    as well as heritage order attributes [...].

    Article l. 123-1 of the Code of intellectual property:
    The author has, during his lifetime the exclusive right to exploit his work
    in any form whatsoever and to make a monetary profit.
    On the death of the author, this right continues for the benefit of his rightful claimants
    during the current calendar year and the 70 years that follow.

    The term copyright means the notion of copyright in the U.S. Statute (in title 17, United States Code). Unlike the copyright in force in France, a deposit is required in order to enforce the United States. A deposit of copyright works can thus display the © symbol, followed by the year of publication, then the name of the author (or the company that filed the copyright).

    This formalism is permitted in France insofar as it applies to any work subject to copyright. Copyright, or all rights reserved Terms do not have so much influence on the protection of the work and allow only an informative role towards the public. On the other hand the absence of acronym or mention of copyright does not mean that the work is not protected! Thus all elements present on the Internet (pictures, videos, sound clips, texts) are subjected de facto to the copyright, even though their access is free and no mention says that they are protected!

Copyright

    Le droit d'auteur en France est régi par par la loi du 11 mars 1957 et la loi du 3 juillet 1985, codifiées dans le code de la propriété intellectuelle.

    La loi reconnaît en tant qu'auteur toute personne physique qui crée une oeuvre de l'esprit quelle que soit son genre (littéraire, musical ou artistique), sa forme d'expression (orale ou écrite), son mérite ou sa finalité (but artistique ou utilitaire).

    Le droit d'auteur couvre donc toute création de l'esprit, qu'elle soit une oeuvre littéraire (livres, journaux, pièces de théâtre, logiciels, site web, etc.), une oeuvre d'art (peinture, sculpture, photographie, image infographiée, architecture, etc.), une oeuvre musicale ou audiovisuelle, dès lors qu'elle est matérialisée, originale et qu'elle est l'expression de la personnalité de l'auteur. Ainsi ne tombent pas sous la protection du droit d'auteur les créations de l'esprit purement conceptuelles telles qu'une idée, un concept, un mot du langage courant, ou une méthode.

    D'après les article L.111-1 et L.123-1 du code de la propriété intellectuelle, l'auteur d'une oeuvre de l'esprit jouit d'un droit de propriété exclusif dès sa création, sans nécessité d'accomplissement de formalités (dépôt ou enregistrement), pour une durée correspondant à l'année civile du décès de l'auteur et des soixante-dix années qui suivent, au bénéfice de ses ayants-droits. Au-delà de cette période, les oeuvres entrent dans le domaine public. Toutefois, en cas de litige, il est nécessaire de pouvoir apporter une preuve de l'existence de l'oeuvre à une date donnée, soit en ayant effectué préalablement un dépôt auprès d'un organisme habilité, soit en ayant rendu l'oeuvre publique et en étant en moyen de le prouver. D'après les article L.111-1 et L.123-1 du code de la propriété intellectuelle, l'auteur d'une oeuvre de l'esprit jouit d'un droit de propriété exclusif dès sa création, sans nécessité d'accomplissement de formalités (dépôt ou enregistrement), pour une durée correspondant à l'année civile du décès de l'auteur et des soixante-dix années qui suivent, au bénéfice de ses ayants-droits. Au-delà de cette période, les oeuvres entrent dans le domaine public. Toutefois, en cas de litige, il est nécessaire de pouvoir apporter une preuve de l'existence de l'oeuvre à une date donnée, soit en ayant effectué préalablement un dépôt auprès d'un organisme habilité, soit en ayant rendu l'oeuvre publique et en étant en moyen de le prouver.

    Article L. 111-1 du Code de la propriété intellectuelle :
    L'auteur d'une oeuvre de l'esprit jouit sur cette oeuvre, du seul
    fait de sa création, d'un droit de propriété incorporelle exclusif
    et opposable à tous.
    Ce droit comporte des attributs d'ordre intellectuel et moral,
    ainsi que des attributs d'ordre patrimonial [...].

    Article L. 123-1 du Code de la propriété intellectuelle :
    L'auteur jouit, sa vie durant du droit exclusif d'exploiter son oeuvre
    sous quelque forme que ce soit et d'en tirer un profit pécuniaire.
    Au décès de l'auteur, ce droit persiste au bénéfice de ses ayants-droits
    pendant l'année civile en cours et les soixante-dix années qui suivent.

    Le terme "copyright" désigne la notion de droit d'auteur dans la loi américaine (dans le Titre 17 du United States Code). Contrairement au droit d'auteur en vigueur en France, un dépôt est nécessaire afin de le faire valoir aux Etats-Unis. Les oeuvres ayant fait l'objet d'un dépôt de copyright peuvent ainsi afficher le symbole ©, suivi de l'année de publication, puis du nom de l'auteur (ou de la société ayant déposé le copyright).

    Ce formalisme est autorisé en France dans la mesure où il s'applique à toute oeuvre soumise au droit d'auteur. Les mentions "Copyright", © ou "Tous droits réservés" n'ont pas pour autant d'influence sur la protection de l'oeuvre et permettent uniquement de jouer un rôle informatif vis-à-vis du public. D'autre part l'absence de sigle ou de mention du droit d'auteur ne signifie pas que l'oeuvre n'est pas protégée ! Ainsi tous les éléments présents sur Internet (images, vidéos, extraits sonores, textes) sont soumis de facto au droit d'auteur, même si leur accès est libre et gratuit et qu'aucune mention ne précise qu'ils sont protégés !